Strawberry Cake 

Strawberries.

Is there any fruit that can capture as many human emotions as a glistening ,ruby red strawberry? My heart pounds when I see strawberries slowly trickling in onto the supermarket shelves. And I go back home more thrilled about that small packet of strawberries lolling around in my bag than about the pretty Christmas decorations that I had purchased , much to the amusement of my husband. I don’t explain why, and he doesn’t need to ask me either. You see, he perfectly understands. Umm,maybe…?

img_5293
My strawberry obsession tempts me to buy more. And I hoard ’em in the fridge scheming up adventurous escapades with them. This time I got so busy with the holiday celebrations that I ended up neglecting a lone packet of strawberries. Each time I opened the fridge , they begged to be chosen. They waited, I mentally promised them liberation, and then one day one tiny strawberry started growing Santa’s beard. Times up, they gotta be used pronto!

Leafing through   Martha Stewart’s Cakes  , I found myself staring at a homely cake studded with strawberries. A very straightforward and easy recipe. Its effortlessness caught the attention of my default laziness . Fifteen minutes , and the cakes already in the oven baking away. What can I say, ‘easy’ is an understatement here.


Boy, I regret having taken so long to meet this dimpled beauty ! I mean, it’s sheer simplicity belies all its virtues. The texture is dense, tastes awesomely buttery with perfect sweetness and most importantly…the strawberries. I had never dreamt that roasted strawberries could easily beat the heck out of a compote. If you ever wanted to make a cake where strawberries shine all the way, this is it.

Do you need a quick strawberry fix? Then I promise you won’t regret trying out this cake. Ever. And never.

image
How did you welcome this new year? With food and friends, or snugly under your blanket? I think it’s perfectly OK to treat New Year’s Eve as just any other day. With all the hullabaloo surrounding it, I am sure there’s plenty who feel lost when they don’t have company to cheer in the new year. I think what really matters is your resolve to be filled with hope all year round , your determination to face upcoming challenges and rise above them, and also to be thankful for the lovely memories of the past year. If you neglect the above, then don’t you think there’s nothing much to be excited about in 2016? Just my perspective…

So here I am sitting on my turquoise blue couch and wishing you all that this year feeds you good food and much laughter , and that you dare to take bold strides out of your comfort zone.Even a few inches will be great.

We spent the day exploring a small area of this huge city that we call our home. And even though movie theatres make me immensely uneasy (I know,what a wierdo !) I succumbed to Mr.Di’s wishes and ushered in the new year  with an artsy movie. An unusual yet realistic movie, it gave me a lot to think about. But hey, my ears are still faintly ringing from all that sophisticated gut-quivering sound effects. Do fill me in on how you spent your New Year’s Eve. I am as curious as a nosy old grandma. Have a great year folks!


 

Strawberry cake

Serves 8- 10

Ingredients

6 tablespoons salted butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar

1 large egg

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 pound fresh strawberries, hulled and halved

Method

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Butter a 10 inch pie plate or a 9 inch cake pan. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt into a medium bowl.
2. With an electric mixer on medium- high speed, beat butter and 1 cup sugar until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Reduce speed to medium-low; mix in egg, milk and vanilla.
3. Reduce speed to low. Gradually add flour mixture. Transfer batter to pie plate/ cake pan.
4. Arrange strawberries on top of batter, cut sides down and as close together as possible. Sprinkle remaining two tablespoons sugar over berries *
5. Bake cake 10 minutes Reduce heat to 325 F, and continue to bake until cake is golden brown and firm to the touch, about 60 minutes more. ( I halved the recipe, and needed to bake the cake only for about 25-30 minutes in total)

The cake can be stored at room temperature , loosely covered, for up to 2 days. (Hehe, you might try storing, but you see they disappear pretty fast , so why bother ?)

* I skipped this and instead macerated the strawberries for just five minutes. I felt it helped the strawberries absorb all the sugar. Make sure not to macerate it longer, otherwise the sweetness gets a bit lost in the juices that the strawberries release

Recipe Source : Martha Stewart’s Cakes 

.

 

7 thoughts on “Strawberry Cake 

    • bakingdee says:

      Thank you Anne Marie ! You are the first person to comment on my blog, and it’s a relief to know that there’s someone who’s gone through my blog. 🙂 Just like you, i am new to blogging and trying out the ropes. Love the honest way in which you describe mommy-hood — especially the part where you took a few minutes break and hid from your toddlers questions ! Keep writing, I think you could write pages about the raising a kid. Here’s a link I bet you will like. It’s a comic about parenthood. https://www.facebook.com/FowlLanguageComics

      Liked by 1 person

      • amaspet says:

        Thank you for your feedback and the link. I look forward to reading your future posts and i will be definitely trying your ideas out, more than likely with my boys “help” hehehe.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

